Friday, December 29, 2017

Louisa's dog portrait!

This is Louisa! Her portrait will be in my "Dog Show" coming this January 12Th at Cafe Lift in Philly.  Get breakfast and coffee and check out my dog portraits.  The show will be up till February 28th, yea!

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Working on Louisa's dog portrait

I'm on the final dog portrait, Louisa, for my "Dog Show" coming this January 12th at Cafe Lift in Philly.   

Friday, December 22, 2017

Sketching with Frankie

I'm sketching out a new dog portrait with a little help of a friend.

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Here is Clowe!

Here is Clowe.  Clowe's dog portrait will be at my "Dog Show" at Cafe Lift in Philly, Jan. 12 to Feb. 28.  Come out to see all the dog portraits and eat delicious brunch!

Monday, December 11, 2017

At the drawing table...

I'm at the drawing table.  This dog portrait is of Clowe.  Only a few more dog portraits to go before I hang them for my "Dog Show" at Cafe Lift next month. January 12th is when it starts. 

Saturday, December 2, 2017

This is Kira!

This is Kira! She was Max's  friend for a camping and hiking weekend this past summer.  Kira is from New York. Look for her in my dog portrait show coming this January 12th at Cafe Lift in Philly. 

Saturday, November 18, 2017

New drawing pad!

It's new drawing pad day! FRESH. The next dog portrait will be dedicated to the old LOVE park. 

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Lucy's dog portrait!

This is Lucy! Her dog portrait is finished, oh yeah!  She will be in my "Dog Portrait" show this February at Cafe Lift in Philly.  

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Late night

I had a late night drawing session with Frankie. Stay tuned for the finished dog portrait of Lucy!  Come check him out at my "Dog Show" at Cafe Lift this February in Philly.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Drawing Lucy!

I'm drawing Lucy, a chocolate lab!  I've never met this dog, but I've heard many stories about her.  Lucy will be in my "Dog Show" coming February at Cafe Lift in Philly!  Stay tuned for the finished dog portrait.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Portrait drawing put on hold...

Dog portrait drawing was put on hold yesterday due to these two cats. I got to go trail riding on my bike instead.  Today I'm back at the drawing table. 

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Parker's dog portrait!

This is Parker! It took 3 pencils to draw this dog portrait.  Look for him in my "Dog Show" coming February in Philly!

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

On my 3rd pencil...

I'm on my 3rd pencil drawing Parker.  I've never counted how many pencils I use to make a complete pet portrait before.  Stay tuned for the finished dog portrait of Parker!

Saturday, October 21, 2017


I draw cats, dogs, people, chickens...the list goes on and on...

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Drawing with Frankie.

Drawing a dog portrait and, as always, Frankie is keeping me company. Stay tuned for Parker's portrait!

Friday, October 13, 2017

Sketch sketch sketch

Parker is on the drawing table. Another dog portrait for the Dog Show coming soon!

Sunday, October 8, 2017

Pacino's dog portrait!

This is Pacino!  Pacino's dog portrait will be in my dog show coming this February.

Saturday, October 7, 2017

Saturday morning drawing session.

It's Saturday morning. Frank is keeping me company as always at the drawing table. Stay tuned for the finished dog portrait of Pacino!

Thursday, September 28, 2017

At the drawing table...

At the drawing table...This is Pacino and will be in my next pet portrait show. Dog Show at Cafe Lift in Philly coming this February! 

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Sketching out a dog portrait

I'm sketching out a new dog portrait tonight.  Just need to get a few more dog portraits for a dog portrait show.  Just got word to confirm an art show of my portraits in 2018!  Oh yeah!

Monday, September 11, 2017

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Big Poppa Portrait!

This is Big Poppa!  He is an alley cat on my block.  I don't see him much these days, but I will still see him strolling down the street or back alley.

Monday, September 4, 2017

Hiking, not drawing.

I had planned on finishing Big Poppa yesterday. Instead, Max and I went hiking with new friends in the woods. Got home and fell asleep at the drawing table. Maybe today Big Poppa will get finished, stay tuned... 

Saturday, September 2, 2017

It's Leo!

Leo doesn't make many visits to the drawing table. Today he checks out the update to Big Poppa. 

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Max framed!

I finally have my dog portrait of Max framed and hung in the right spot of the house.  Max is hanging opposite of my two cat portraits. Looking handsome!

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Mama cat and kitten

Here at Bad Cat Portraits studio I take care of this mama cat and kitten.  They are alley cats that have a safe place here on my back deck.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Sketch pad filled with portraits!

My sketch pad is filled front to back with portraits!  That's 100 pages! Big Poppa is on the pad now. Big Poppa is an alley cat on my block.  

Friday, August 18, 2017

Bear's dog portrait!

This is Bear. I had Hawaii on the mind while drawing Bear and gave him a lei. I gotta get back there soon!  I met Bear in Vermont and had the chance to hang with him a few times. Recently, he moved to Pennsylvania. I got to see him here in Philly as well. Nice dog!

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Back at it!

Frankie is thrilled I'm back at the drawing table. He is the best drawing buddy!  

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Taking a break

I took a break on working on Bear's portrait so that I could go to Seattle. I'm back now and back at it! Stay tuned for the finished dog portrait of Bear.

Sunday, July 23, 2017

New dog portrait sketched out.

I have a new dog portrait sketched out on the drawing pad.  This one is of Bear. Frankie is overseeing the process as always.

Friday, July 14, 2017

Maximus' dog portrait!

Here is Maximus! Max is my dog that my wife and I adopted 5 months ago. He is an American Staffordshire Terrier and an amazing, happy dog. He was found wondering around North Philly alone. I'm so glad to have him in our family now!  

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Drawing Maximus

In between grilling and biking, I'm drawing my dog Maximus.  Max has been a great addition to the family. We have had him now for 4 months.  Stay tuned for Maximus' dog portrait!

Saturday, July 1, 2017

Thanks High Point Cafe!

A big thanks to High Point Cafe for having my first Bad Cat Portraits art show. Yesterday I took down my "Alley Cats of Philly" portrait show.  I hope to do another show in the future, but next time portraits of dogs.  

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Wednesday night.

It's Wednesday night, I'm drawing with Frankie.  The dog portrait I am currently drawing is of Maximus. Max is my dog, he is an American Staffordshire Terrier.  My wife and I have had him for about 4 months now.  We got him from ACCT  in Philadelphia.  Max is a pretty great dog.  I'm glad we found him and able to give him a great home.

Friday, June 16, 2017

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Anouk's dog portrait!

Here is Anouk! This dog portrait took longer to finish than expected.  It had some challenges, but I drew on and worked through it.  Enjoy!

Sunday, June 4, 2017

Morning drawing session

Saturday morning was rainy, so, I got in a  drawing session.  I held off my bike riding session for the afternoon.  This dog portrait has been more of a challenge for me, but I'll get this done soon.  Stay tuned...

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Drawing drawing drawing...

I'm getting some drawing in now that the grilling is over from this past weekend.  Summer is heating up which makes staying in the studio harder these days.  Speaking of which, time to walk the dog! 

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

New business card

I've been drawing lots of dogs lately. So, I put a dog portrait on my new business card.  If you have a dog you want me to draw a portrait of then contact me. 

Saturday, May 20, 2017

New dog portrait going down!

I've got the line drawing of Anouk ready to go down on the final paper! Stay tuned...

Saturday, May 13, 2017

Rainy day

It's a rainy day.  I'll be in the art studio drawing with these two cats.  I've got a dog portrait to draw.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

This is Penny!

This is Penny! I added a little Star Wars theme to her.  Enjoy!

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Sunday morning.

I'm getting some drawing time in this Sunday morning on Penny.  I think she is coming along nicely!  Stay tuned for the finished dog portrait of Penny!

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Alley cats are hung!

Alley cats are hung! Come check out these cats and more at High Point Cafe at Allens Lane train station, 7210 Cresheim Rd. They will be up for all of May and June.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Alley cat portraits of Philly art show!

Yo Philly! My "Alley cat portraits of Philly" art show is May 1st  at High Point Cafe located at Allens Lane train station.  Come get coffee and tasty baked goods and check out my art.  Enjoy!